BTS : 2016 SD City Beat Comic-Con Cover

This is the full response I sent to SD City Beat for “On the Cover.”


Madness. Anyone who’s been down to Comic-Con knows it first hand. I want you to feel the crowds, the visual overload, the fantastic claustrophobia that you get when you take a photo down there where everyone strikes a pose and tries to squeeze in…



First comp out. Quick and gestural to give an overall idea.

sdcb_sdcc_2016_rough


ss_sdcb_baginthewind

It’s a wonderful experience unlike anything else because all of the dreams and stories congregate in one place without inhibition. Do you know what it’s like to find a place where you can unleash your inner self, meet like-minded people, not be judged, and just celebrate the Strange? CC is so beautiful it chokes me up to think about it. It really is a special time and it should never leave SD. 


This is what I sent out as a rough comp. Would you be sold on something like this? Probably not. To give an idea of what the finished would look like, I also sent out coloring samples and other work.  

sdcb_template_sdcc_2016_rough


Fans of entertainment come in all ages, shapes, sizes, ethnicities, so I tried to be as inclusive as possible. No one gets left out if I can help it. And, since cosplay is king during SDCC, most everyone in this piece is a fan in costume.


The general proposal was out for approval. But, it was really vague, so I had to flesh out more of what I was trying to do.

sdcb_sdcc_2016_comp


I started out with a rough pencil sketch to work out the crowd and framing.



I sent this out as a full pencil comprehensive.

sdcb_template_sdcc_2016_comp


Shhh… #SneakPeek

A post shared by RBSTagram™ (@rbstweet) on





Then, I tightened up the linework again in pencil.



Coloring and effects were all Photoshop. So analog to digital for this illustration.


You can visit my site at robeast.com and find me on Instagram and Twitter at @RBSTweet.


I actually cried when I got this text from my brother. I just couldn’t believe it.


BTW, I submitted art for the SDCC guide book. Won’t know if it made it in until I get my hands on a copy! Look inside it for Plastic Man by RBST… 


B hit me up and said we should do a signing at WTF Wednesdays. I was like, “Come on, man…” to which he replied, “F*#$ it, E. Let’s do it.”


Thanks for letting me “cover” the party. It’s a fanboy dream that finally came true…


This is my treatment for the San Diego City Beat masthead. I had big shoes to fill and had to step up game designing for SOMARAMOS. 

Shout out to SD City Beat and your fantastic art director.



Shout out to the fans of this annual craze. Shout out to our secret identities screaming to be set free.



Sweets…

A post shared by RBSTagram™ (@rbstweet) on


Shout out to my daughter, Harley Quinn (that’s her real name). 




And, Happy Birthday to my son, Vince…!


This is my teaser vid for the collaboration.



I love you, San Diego! Spider-sense is tingling. See you at the ‘Con…


Hmmm. Does this look right…? @sdcitybeat #SDCC #SanDiego

A post shared by RBSTagram™ (@rbstweet) on



rbst_sdcb_sdcc_2016_800w


Dreams really do come true. This past week has been nothing short of dope-as-f*&#! Thank you again from the bottom of my heart…

Sincerely,
ERiK MANLUCTAO

rbst_sig_100


Read the full Comic-Con issue of San Diego City Beat here. –>

http://npaper-wehaa.com/sdcitybeat/2016/07/20/

Thanks for all the kind words these past few days. And, I'm sorry if it feels like I may be overposting. If you haven't checked out the issue or haven't been able to find one, here's a little blurb about the cover. I wanted to make this as inclusive as possible and tried as hard as I could. There are layers and layers of heads underneath layers and layers of heads because somehow I thought I could include everyone… or damn near die trying (pardon my French). Thanks again @sdcitybeat for the golden opportunity and for helping a local guy try to express his mind. This piece was/is for all of you here and for everyone that comes here for the yearly madness. This is my first official comic-related cover and I'm glad to contribute and represent at this time with you all as my inspiration. Keep the dream alive my friends. Gonna need a few moments before I try to sneak in… #SDCC #SDCityBeat #LoveAndComics #SanDiego

A post shared by RBSTagram™ (@rbstweet) on

rbst_sdcb_sdcc_400x

Comments are closed.

